General settings

Overview

image-20260831-114723.png

General settings allow you to configure global options such as AI features, shared mailboxes, and technical settings. Shared mailboxes enable users to send customer emails from Jira on behalf of a central mailbox.

Settings that control how features appear in Jira are configured separately for each Jira space.

Select a Jira space from the dropdown menu where you want to configure the above mentioned settings.

Learn more on the details and options below.

Appearance

jira admin

The appearance settings moved to the individual Jira space settings.

As a Jira space admin, use the “Appearance” settings to control where Microsoft 365 features should be available within work items in your space.

Choose the issue view, quick-create area, or activity tab; the issue view and quick-create placements can be enabled together.

Switch between features and toggle their visibility to create a layout that supports your team’s way of working.

image-20260831-114505.png
Space settings: Configure feature appearance in individual Jira spaces.
Appearance views
image-20241022-080329.png

Issue content/view

The feature (here: MS Teams) will be available prominently at the top under “Apps”.

image-20241022-080401.png

Quick create area

If this option is toggled on, the feature is also available as a separate panel in Jira. Chat and conversations can be started with a click.

This setting can only be combined with the option “Issue content”.

image-20241022-080557.png

Activity tab

If the activity tab is chosen, the feature will be accessible in the “Activity”-tab in your issue - right next to “Add Jira comment”.

AI settings

jira admin experimental stage

image-20260219-104057.png

Global AI settings

Within the general settings of Microsoft 365 for Jira, you can enable AI features.

By activating AI features, this will allow certain processes to use AI to assist or change outcomes.

Available AI features

You can now use AI to summarize chats in a Jira comment. You will be able to customize more AI-powered features in the future.

Without AI, when you create a chat backup, keywords from the discussion can be added as an internal comment.

With AI features enabled, AI replaces the keywords comment posted to a topic with an AI summary of the chat (chat backups only, in the language of the chat).

If you're communicating through the Teams portal app in a JSM project, the chat summary is structured as ‘problem’, ‘steps to find solution’, ‘solution’.

image-20240917-093906.png
Example of a chat summary comment via Teams portal app.

About the LLM

We use the following LLM: meta.llama3-1-8b-instruct-v1:0 and gpt-oss-20b, hosted on AWS Bedrock, located in the US (us-west-2 (Oregon)). No data is shared with the LLM, persisted or distributed elsewhere. Learn more about the functionality here: AI functionality.

Shared mailboxes

jira admin outlook permissions required

Connect shared mailboxes to Jira and allow users to send emails on behalf of it when using the Email feature.

image-20260901-072403.png

Technical settings

jira admin

image-20260901-072335.png

Bug reporting via Sentry: Sentry is a monitoring tool used to track errors and performance issues in apps. It captures technical details helping developers identify and resolve issues faster. Sentry also sends real-time alerts for critical errors, streamlining bug tracking and resolution.

You can disable this technical feature for your instance by clicking the toggle.

Jira Permissions: By default, this setting is disabled, which means that all users typically have access to the features of Microsoft 365 for Jira.

You can limit access by enabling the setting (toggle on). After activating this option, be sure to review your global Jira permissions for “Access Microsoft 365” in the next step. Adjusting user groups - either by adding or removing them - will determine whether users can view the app buttons or if those buttons will be hidden, thereby restricting access.

Enable tracing: By enabling tracing, you allow us to collect additional information about the app usage and performance. This information is used to improve the app and fix issues. This will be disabled automatically after 24 hours.